"It has been two years I have been running my 24 quart batch freezer.  We run this machine every day and sometimes looooong days running 2-4 batches of a flavor. On a side note I’m sooooooo glad I stepped up and got the 24 quart and did not get the 6 or 12 quart. Even with the 24 quart we are running 3-4 batches per flavor to keep up. Every piece of equipment from the waffle cone makers to the freezer compressor has failed at some time. My Emery Thompson just keeps on going the only issue I have is the logo emblem came off the front of the machine. 

I’m not sure how I communicate my appreciation for you Steve Thompson for building an absolute tank of a machine. This fine piece of machinery goes to war every day and often gets abused but still come up looking pretty every morning.

My thanks to you Steve and your crew.

​- Jerry Dunn, Scoops - Catalina Island, jerry@scoopscatalina.com"


"Hello Steve.  Just wanted to tell you that we are loving the new CB100.  We had an ice cream store in Atlantic City that we sold this past spring.  The new CB100 is perfect to feed our need to make ice cream at home.  Our boys are loving helping in the process. Best wishes, John Thayer"​


"Thank you for the email Steve.
Once again it was truly an honor speaking to you. I will look in to this new product geared towards millennials. Since you like the taste of it,  it sounds like it would really be worthwhile. Thank you for sharing it with me. I will keep you posted on the progress of my first store. Thank you for sharing all your knowledge about the ice cream and Italian ice business. 
I really learned a lot from you and watching your videos on YouTube.
 It was your video that spoke about the good money to be made in selling Italian Water Ice, that got me started . I can never forget you saying that it cost $0.04 to make a cup of water ice and the extra money you can make.
 I started out 5 years ago with an ice cream truck that I bought from a guy in Staten Island. Now I have two trucks and on the verge of opening my first brick-and-mortar place in Wilmington Delaware.   I am just grateful to have the opportunity of being in this business, and learning from you. I won't take up too much more of your time. Thank you again for accepting my call, and for everything I've learned from you in the business. 
I'm hoping one day in the future I can come see you in person and your wonderful manufacturing facility.
 I got into this business  to spend more time with my family, and be my own boss. Thanks to your help, I'm sure I will reach this goal once my new store opens and gets established in Wilmington Delaware.
I hope you and your family have a great day, and I hope to be in touch again.

Sincerely, 
Dino Thompson from Dino's ice cream truck in (New Castle) Delaware."


"Mr Steve:
I have been making ice cream and gelato with my Emery Thompson  for about 18 months so far. I attended the class in Florida with my wife as a virgin ice cream maker with no experience. I’m not exactly sure how many  hundred of gallons I have made since then but I can tell you we will probably do a million dollars in business this year on average $7.00 at a time. I have fixed or maintained just about everything at or shop from the dishwasher to the coffee brewer with one exception my, Emery Thompson. It just keeps on going like the stainless steel tank that was promised. I’m not exactly sure how customers find Emery Thompson with the other giants in the batch freezer industry claiming such a huge percentage of the batch freezer business. What I can tell you that if they have found Emery Thompson they are on the right path

The other key ingredient to my success (besides hard work) is Mr. Rocco Giovanniello. I’m sorry Steve but Rocco is just as important or possibly more important to my success then my ET. You combine the ET “tank” and the fine honed skills of Rocco Giovanniello you can pretty much be guaranteed success unless you are trying to sell ice cream to Eskimos. 
When I first looked at the ET’s I struggled like most on how much to spend. Can I get by with a CB-350 or should I plan for success and get the 12 quart , but then why buy a 12 quart when for a few dollars more you can get the 24 quart. Well after staring at the ceiling many nights I decided my time was worth something and working twice as hard with a CB-350 was not my goal so I pulled the trigger on the 24 Quart. This was again a perfect decision. I can’t imagine making the volume of ice cream I make 1 1/2 gallons at a time. I actually in our peak season I am now making double batches of flavors in my 24 quart machine. 
Steve made claims in our class of answering any question anytime. I can tell you from personal experience he actually does this, anytime, any day, any hour !! I just introduced frozen lemonade, sort of styled after Del’s frozen lemonade of Rhode Island. Steve sent me a better recipe, the information on how to make it and it came out spectacular. My ingredients cost will average 2 cents per ounce. This means a 16 oz serving cost me 32 cents and I sell it for $4.75. 

I’m writing this for those trying to decide should I invest the time and money to attend the "Perfetto Gelato Training!" with Rocco Giovanniello” at the ET factory. I can tell you you cannot afford to not attend if you plan to be successful in the ice cream or gelato business. Any questions ?? Thank you Steve & Rocco,"

- Jerry Dunn, Scoops - Catalina Island, jerry@scoopscatalina.com

"Hello My names is James McHugh owner of Temperature Systems Solutions out of Jacksonville FL. I have ordered parts from Emery and always have been satisfied and I only here good things about Emery Thompson. Several of my clients have already started ordering parts from Emery Thompson. Recently Rita's Jax beach owner <..........> & Rita's Beach Blvd Onwer <..........>. I'm so thankful for Emery Thompson for keeping parts in stock for my clients."


"The Emery Thompson Ice Cream Batch freezers are second to none, not to mention your company invented Commercial Ice Cream batch freezers over 100 years ago. As artisan ice cream producers, we create and improve our recipes everyday, but without 110% reliable machinery, a viable business plan just wouldn't be successful without your top of the line equipment. Many many thanks and keep up the fine craftsmanship!"  "Velvet - A Candy Store", 507 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, Michigan.


"Congratulations on your ET and on deciding to make your own.  I wanted to comment because we went through the same thing in our shop.  For 3 years we purchased good quality ice cream for around the same price as you and when we decided to start making our own, my number 1 motivator was to save on the cost per tub.  I can tell you that once you have that machine in your hands you will not care as much about the cost as you will about the quality of the ice cream you make.  You will save a lot but it is addictive to keep trying your own methods and receipts to make the best possible product.  It's been two years now and it was the best thing we've done for our business". - Moncef Bennaji,

Orange Octopus, Sarasota, FL

__._,_.___


"Steve, just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thanks….. we are about two weeks away from celebrating our (The House Boozy Ice Cream & Brews) One year anniversary.  This whole crazy idea would not be as successful as it is without your amazing machines and your awesome support. So once again, I just wanted to say thanks." - Robert & Carmen Nickle, Owners/Founders, The House – Boozy Ice Cream & BrewsSan Antonio, Texas


"Thank you for building such an amazing machine so our business does so well."  - Jaime Votaw, Ice Cream Sammies, Chandler, AZ


"Dear Mr. Thompson,
I had purchased your FT I.O.C. batch freezer in 2005 and proud to say that it is closing in on 70,000 gallons of ice cream produced, trouble free!"

Brian Brennan, Brennan’s Big Chill, Bloomsburg, PA.


"Hi Steve,
Thanks so much for your generous help in the recent past with my questions.  Its is great to
know that my business can rely on the very best batch freezer on the market, as well as the
only “accessible” manufacturer in the world, should questions arise or help be needed.
And your online videos have been a very valuable resource  for my learning curve."

- Daniel Duffin, Happy Holstein, LLC, Klein Farms, Easton, PA

"Steve,
Have I told you lately how much I love this machine?
Winter has been good to us. Spring is coming back more and more every day.
(Julie) and Allen Nelson, 
Hurry Back Ice Cream, Sellwood (Portland), OR"



"Steve,
I haven’t had a chance to really tell you what I think about Emery Thompson equipment because I have been too busy making ice cream and gelato. I had never been in the ice cream business and really had no idea what I was doing. I did a lot of Googling and kept seeing Emery Thompson coming up. My kitchen supply company was really putting the squeeze on my to buy Carpigiani, since they were a dealer. I heard all the tall tales about how Carpigiani was the biggest and best. Still not convinced I attended your seminar and watched you and Jeff make some really good ice cream. It was simple but most important the equipment was solid. The door, dasher and the case were solid stainless steel. Finially the time came and I pulled the trigger and bought the 24 quart machine. I was a bit concerned because I was buying a 24 quart machine and it seemed most people started with a CB350 6 quart machine. I had high expectations and did not want to be working twice as hard if I could make big batches. 
I was lucky enough through you to have met Rocco Giovanniello, gelato chef extraordinaire, he was key to training me and providing some great recipes. When we opened we were swamped, we were doing over 500 transactions a day and I was “spinning” ice cream all the time. This was not even our “season” since we opened on September 15, 2015 after Labor Day. Since then we have practiced, streamlined our process and fine tuned our flavors. We are now locked and loaded and ready for spring/summer 2016. 
I only wish I had listened to you more. I bought some Itailian made dip cases because I wanted to be authentic. They were a good brand but two months after opening a compressor took a poop. We were in a hurry so I just bought another compressor to the tune of $800.00 and got it going again. We then found out it was a valve that caused the problem and contacted the manufacture. After much begging they agreed to send a new valve. After a few days I requested a tracking number because their offices were in San Francisco not more then two days away UPS. I came to find out it was coming from Italy and it took two weeks to get. We installed the valve but still lost two weeks of gelato sales. We are now fighting with the manufacture over who pays for the compressor and labor. 
Your statement is still ringing in my ears, “if you need a part, I will have it to you the next day”. Well, I have made 100’s of gallons of ice cream and gelato and I have yet to need anything. I can’t imagine buying anything but an Emery Thompson. 
I just thought you needed to know this because sometime we all need an “atta boy, keep up the good work”.
Sincerely,
Jerry Dunn,
Scoops, Catalina Island"


"Hi Paula, this is Chun-Han. Thank you for the CB-200 machine.
The machine arrived a week ago and I have started to experimenting some of my receipts on it.
I want to tell you that I loved the machine.
The parts are easy to clean, solid, reliable.
It doesn't make much noise and the freezing time is amazingly short that it removed my icicle problems.
I had let my families and friends tried the resulting products and they loved it.
Once again,
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Chun-Han Chiang"


"I'm trying to buy replacements for the worn plastic dasher blades in my Capigiani LABO 30 45 M
I'm in Sydney Australia. I have been trying for the last 6 months with the local Capigiani distributors, without success. I attended a trade show in Sydney a month ago where Carpigiani were an exhibitor. The carpigiani  Italian master gelato demonstrator as seen on youtube  was on show to demonstrate, their wonderful machines and to sell their after sales service and support. I approached him directly and explained my situation. 

He appeared embarrassed and passed me on to another Carpigiani Rep from Italy.
He also listened to my story and passed me on to the Aust Melbourne office rep. 
The Melbourne rep Listened to my story and passed me on to the Sydney Rep. 
The Sydney Rep recognised me and gave me some ridiculous story about staff problems, and promised to contact me immediately after the show. 
One month latter NOTHING FROM CARPIGIANI   no surprise. 

I continue using the machine by spacing the blades out using SS washers. It is important that others are aware of the false advertising as shown on [Carpigiani] Youtube videos. I am still looking for a solution. - Joe, Concord Coffee & Cakes, Concord NSW, AU".


"Hey Steve,
I can't tell you how much i like the CB200. I have finally figured out some good recipes and made some really good ice cream. I have been making batches and giving out samples to any customer who purchases a cupcake. 100% positive feedback!!!!. So far the key lime has been a huge hit and i cant wait to start selling it. I dont know why but in my area strawberry is very popular. We have about 4 different cupcakes that have strawberry in them and they selllllll out. I have had many customers ask me to do a strawberry or strawberry cheesecake ice cream. I have looked at your online recipes but can't find one. Do you by chance have one or know where i can get a good one? any help would be super amazing, thanks again for everything. - Carlo Lacombe, Smallcakes, Bonaire, GA.".


"Great information, Thanks for the help [with ice cream holding temperatures].  We use a CB-350 I purchased from you 4 years ago. We love your machine. It is truly the best I’ve worked with. " -  Chef Rodger Martin, Executive Chef, Dallas Country Club


"Steve:
Thank you for your quick response. This is why I insisted on an Emery Thompson so I would have the “go to” person when needed. I’m going to take a breath and give it another go this morning. We have been slammed for the last 6 days with no time to even look up. I’m going to try and rework my freezer shelving so I can store more product. I cannot keep up only doing 12 quart batches so I am ordering 200 gallons of mix today (100 14% ice cream and 100 gallons 8% gelato) and step up to the big boy class of 24 quart batches. I’m just glad I bought the bigger 24 quart machine. I will keep you posted. Thanks again for your help" - Jerry Dunn, Scoops, Catalina


"Thanks Steve

Your answer was great I have been actually adding sugar for the last 3 weeks and it really makes all the difference.

My Pregel lecturer was trying to tell me that a Carpigiani batch freezer makes gelato more smoother [that's] bull**t it's all about the ingredients.

I bought chocolate milkshake syrup today I will try making your Coffee gelato recipewith the chocolate syrup and I will let you know how it comes out. Instant Coffee always has a bitter taste in Icecream or gelato so I am hoping the chocolate syrup
gets rid of it.

Have a great night.
Regards 
Michael​​ Konstantinoff"



"Dear Benjamin,
 
Thank you for your enquiry on the Emery Thompson Batch Freezers. I have received your enquiry from Steve Thompson.
 
I have been the Emery Thompson agent in Australia and New Zealand for the past 8 years plus. Your Pregel lecturer sounds like a used car salesperson. To gain confidence and approval from his prospect customers, he has to discredit or defame his opposition.
 
First of all, it is not true to say that you cannot communicate with someone in Australia. I am the agent here for Emery Thompson, and as I work for myself, you can contact me 24/7. It is true to say that we do not carry many spare parts in Australia that is because there is not much need for it. The Emery Thompson Batch Freezer is a robust piece of equipment and I do sell very little spare parts. However, we can deliver the Batch Freezer and/or the Spare Parts to you in one simple order from the USA to your preferred location, anywhere in Australia. It will be my job to take care of your buying experience.
 
The prices of parts in the USA have nothing to do with the cost of the actual parts in Australia. We all face the same challenge of Import Taxes, Charges, Duties and Freight. In fact, we do not pay Duties for USA manufactured goods unlike European imports. I deal with both continents, so this is a fact. The value of the Australian Dollar has dropped against both currencies, the EURO and the US Dollar. However, we have a better exchange rate of $0.68 USD to the EURO 0.59 against the Australian Dollar.
 
It is also not true to say that you will wait weeks from parts from the USA. Emery Thompson stock most of the parts, and depending on the urgency versus cost, you can get parts to Australia with 4-10 days. I have been in business for 14 years now with agencies from both the USA and Europe, so I believe I have an idea of shipping times and prices.
 
I am not in the business of denigrating my opposition. They obviously rely on this kind of behaviour because they feel threatened by a superior piece of equipment, to gain short term business and to win your confidence. I can point out several facts to you, whereby a couple of my clients were furious about buying an Italian Batch Freezer and asked me to replace them with Emery Thompsons. You lecturer is also misleading you about the way Gelatos or ice cream are made. The quality of your product will depends on your ingredients and the length of time it spends inside the cylinder. That is for you to determine.
 
NOTE: It is not true to say that Emery Thompson Batch Freezers do not produce winning products. Please consult on the Australian Dairy Foods magazine where you will find on regular occasions my clients win the Gelato competitions with an Emery Thompson Batch Freezer.
 
The principle of freezing is the same. It contains a barrel, a set of scraper blades and the heat exchange that occurs inside the barrel. Most Batch Freezers operate on the same principle. Maybe you should consider who sponsors your Pregel courses. You might find the answer there.
 
IMPORTANT:
Here are a few of facts for you to consider in your approach when considering a Batch Freezer.
 
1)     Emery Thompson is the inventor of the Batch Freezer. There can only be one inventor. The rest are copies.
2)     Emery Thompson has 110 years of history in this business. It is a family business through 3 generations and do not require introduction. This product has a worldwide reputation.
3)     The oldest Emery Thompson Batch Freezer in Australia is 56 years old and still working.
4)     My business Ice Cream & Process Solutions is renowned for its customer service. I have multi-nationals as well as individual people as clients.
 
 
I hope the above information will be helpful to you. 
If you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me “in your own time zone”.
 
Regards,
Greg Briggs.
Ice Cream & Process Solutions Pty Ltd"


"I am very pleased with the way the CB 200 is working, the gelato it makes is great. So far the recipes I have tried have transferred very well without any problems. Thank You for all the help you have been giving me I really appreciate all the support you give to your customers. It has been a real pleasure  and I am glade to know that I can ask any question and get such great response. Thank you!" - James Fortini


"When I have made Gelato with a Carpigiani and other batch freezers every time the Gelato comes out of the batch freezer the Gelato is never ready a lot of times. I have had to restart the batch freezer and when you do that the Gelato never comes out good. Vanilla always comes out perfect on a Carpigiani but many other flavours are never ready; the product comes out way too soft and it melts a bit before you get it into the freezer therefore it lacks in texture once the product freezes up.

I am so happy with my Emery Thompson batch freezer and I am planning to buy your 24 quart batch freezer " - Michael Konstantinoff, Super Frozen Desserts, Sydney, Australia
 
"I just wanted to give you an update on what's going on since I purchased my machine.  I really enjoy my machine and I have my ice cream going into 3 grocery stores and I'm working with a hotel chain and have my ice cream in a restaurant as well.  It works great and the ice cream is consistently creamy, smooth and delicious.  I'm sending a picture of my "Coco de Cafe" chocolate and organic decaf coffee with wheatgrass ice cream; coming directly and fresh from my CB-200 ice cream maker.  Thank you so much, the quality and performance is the best and it's easy to use which is very important.  Before I purchased the CB-200 I was using 6 Cuisinart machines and I wouldn't have ever been able to produce enough ice cream to get it into stores and restaurants. I just wanted you to know that I wouldn't have been able to make my dreams of producing the best dairy free, gluten free, vegan ice creams come true without your ice cream machine.  Thank you." - Linda Fisher, Swheatez (pronounced: "Sweet-eez"), Lee's Summit, Missouri


"This is too simple. Wednesday night I got up at 3 am and made my first product from the CB 350.  Italian Lemon ice.  I used your online receipt and it came out brilliant with the zest of the lemons and all.  That frozen lemonade is addictive.  So easy to produce.  I was so excited that I could not go back to sleep.  This weekend I am going try some cream ice.  If I can make a real go of only making ice or cream ice, this enterprise will be something else.  Thanks for all your assistance and encouragement and your wonderful machine." - Hezikiah Maddox, Tortola, British Virgin Islands


"Wow, you always amaze with your response time.  Customer service alone we made an excellent decision buying your machine."  - Josh Nelson"We just bought your beautiful CB-350, and it is a pastry chef's dream! I couldn't be more happy with it. We went from a machine that pretty much had an "On" and "Off" switch to one of your machines. The difference is night and day." Chef Lindsay Stewart, Ninety Acres Culinary Center/Natirar, Peapack-Gladstone, NJ


"My first ET was chain driven...1950's..second 1984 vintage. This new machine is quiet..Less tiresome ..no nonsense..No vibration...just lovely..Accurate...8mins.done..no more no less..again thanks
Runs amazingly. .quiet efficient..Also...my electric bill has dropped.
By 250.00 per month..and we had a rate increase..making exactly same volume The new ic machine saves...pays for it self...from $1070.00to $820.00..  Lastly the ice cream is creamer..Much better texture...amazingly Better.."
- Dr. Mike's Ice Cream Shop, Bethel, CT


"Last week one of my employees put our batch freezer together after cleaning, but... omitted a key part that could not be found...I assumed the worst... that it was thrown away or lost. I called Steve Thompson after the factory was closed. He got the part, ran it down to be overnight shipped. We received it the following morning saving me delays in producing the necessary ice cream for our weekend. Thanks for the extraordinary service, Steve." - Colonel Don Lambert, The Colonel's Creamery, Florence, KY


"Steve, Thanks for putting my mind at ease. I know you already know this, but you guys are amazing. Not a day goes by when Jen and I aren't completely satisfied with our purchase. The level of personal service you provide is unparalleled." - Andrew Satinsky


 "Thanks for the fine machine! I want to tell you the story of my Emery Thompson 20 NW Batch Freezer. I had been using this machine for seven years when Hurricane Katrina paid us a visit in Aug. of 2005. We had 5 feet of salt water in the Old Town Slidell Soda Shop. As you know your machines do not float. The Soda Shop was under water in the shop for 3 days, and when it was gone we had the four inches of black mud that was on everything to deal with. We made a decision not to reopen the shop we had operated for 15 yrs. I shut the doors and left my beloved batch freezer, (full of mud) in the middle of the gutted kitchen. The reason I say beloved is because I maintain all of my own equipment, and I love any piece of equipment that I never had a moment of trouble with. Now comes the good part. I kept the doors of the building closed for 7 years with the batch freezer sitting in the kitchen. I had not cleaned or touched the machine. It still had all the mud on it, and in it. I made a decision to reopen the Soda Shop in 2012, and I knew I was going to use my Emery Thompson batch freezer. My brother and I tore into the machine. We took everything off that we possibly could. We scrubbed and cleaned every nut and bolt. We put it back together. The only part we had to buy was an $8.00 capacitor. My beloved machine has worked without even a moment’s trouble. I cannot thank you enough for continuing your family’s legacy with the manufacture of such a great piece of equipment. I have no idea how anyone thinking of making their own ice cream could think of not having an Emery Thompson Freezer." - Frank Jackson, Old Town Slidell Soda Shop, Slidell, LA


"Thank you for building such quality, affordable products, and for the amazing customer service. I don't think I've ever called a company to ask questions and been transferred to the company president. It's encouraging to know that such great care has gone into planning and constructing your machines." - Susan Warrell, Meltdown {simply delectable iced cream}, Bowling Green, KY


"I made Jeff's white Oreo cookie recipe. OMG! SO delicious and smooth. Your machine is AMAZING! Thanks for keeping it simple and non intimidating. A few years ago I went on a gelato tour of Italy. Your machine makes it just as smooth as the most expensive Bravo and Cattabrigia machines that all the Italian flavor companies swear by. I am very happy with my choice of buying an Emery Thompson in the USA! " - Wendy Beard


 "Dear Mr. Thompson,  My son and I have been watching the DVD's that you provided for us and we can't wait to start our business next year.  In the meantime, we are watching and learning.  Great stuff!  You answer all the important questions in the DVD's.  Thanks for being a honest businessman." -  R. Rubano, McDonald, OH


 "I bought a used machine from someone on eBay...not much help from the seller after I purchased it." - Anon, Boston, MA.


"Steve this is a game changer for your company and what sets you apart from the rest. I was excited to hear this news as it opens the doors to so many people who want to get into the business and truly custom gourmet blends of artisan style deserts. We can now start with a smaller machine build revenue and then move into a bigger machine! Great work to your and your development team." - Carmine Warren


 "After careful consideration, I am consider rather getting another CB350. It has served me well in the past. It has a great capacity. Last summer I pushed 2 tonnes of ice cream out in one month with the machine." - Hendrik van Wyk, Figaro's Gelateria, Canmore, Alberta Canada.


 "Hi Steve, I wanted to let you know that I did my first batch of Italian Ice earlier today. I liked how the machine was quite simple to use and the consistency of the product was good." - Kimberly Dacay, Riverside, CA.


 Question from Yahoo's Ice Cream Folks group: "I am starting an ice cream shop in NE Alabama this spring and I'm looking for a used ET cb350."


"You have a better chance of winning the lottery than finding someone to part with their Emery Thompson batch freezer" - Dave Gehlman, Roxberry Creamery, Johnstown, PA.


"The 40quart batch freezer I bought from you not quite a year ago is working great and has helped me to save over $3,300 in my water bill in the past 10 months. In addition, we love the infinite overrun! It has allowed us to really modify our products more which is appreciated by many of the chefs in this area." David Zimmermann, Royal Scoop Homemade, Bonita Springs, Florida

 "We are proud to declare that Squebees Original Home Made Ice Cream which operates in Caribbean, Trinidad and Tobago to be precise purchased an Emery Thompson batch freezer. We worked hard at owning this batch freezer and now that our company has finally bought it we can safely say that it is the best investment an ice cream business could ever make. This batch freezer is neat, simply, extremely durable and effective, everything Steve said it would be. With this new 24 Quart we can now make six buckets of ice cream in one hour. The fact that I was unable to visit the US to ensure that I was making a good buy was not much of an issue because I was afforded much comfort and support from Steve Thompson and his team. They were polite, understanding, timely and always available for consultation. Emery Thompson’s customer service is truly second to none and for these reasons I would recommend this company to anyone." Oreal Alexander, Squebees Original Home Made Ice Cream, Trinidad & Tobago


 "I just wanted to write you a quick note and tell you thank you for the CB-350 Batch Freezer. We purchased it from you in June, 2012 and we run it for hours and hours every single day. We use it for water ice and frozen custard. Our customers love our product and we are very appreciative to you and your family for building such a great machine. We hope all is well for you and your family." Steve and Mysha Hatch, Mia's Italian Ice, Lehi, UT 
 
"Emery Thompson Machines don't break. I found one in Cuzco, Peru in 1974 and asked the guy what he did for parts. His reply was a classic - " Parts? -  what parts? I don't need parts - this machine will run forever."  If you want to go broke run the parts dept at Emery Thompson." Kit Henningsen, Henningsen Foods International Sales, Stony Creek, CT 
 
"I inherited an Emery Thompson ice cream maker when I leased this restaurant in 1990 and it has worked like a dream ever since. The one time I called to see about an issue we were having (it was making a funny noise), Steve Thompson got on the phone, said “I’m Emery’s Grandson, tell me what it’s doing and I’ll tell you how to fix it”.  I almost cried.  It is so rare these days to buy a piece of equipment with that kind of integrity and durability behind it. Thanks for 23 years of amazing ice creams and sorbets." Susan Spicer, Chef/Owner, Bayona - New Orleans, LA

 "Hi Steve, not a day goes by that I don’t thank you for my ET machine….we are having a great season so far." Karen Morgan,Captain Sam's Ice Cream - Portland, ME

"Just to let you know that we have been open for two weeks now and it's been a roaring success! We can hardly keep up with the demand for our delicious gelato and we couldn't be happier with our CB-350's. What great machines they are - so solid and like tireless work horses. We love them! If things get any busier I'll have to buy the emery machine which is one size up. Thanks again for such amazing products and service." - Joe Donnelly, PocoGelato -  Leigh-on-sea, Essex, England

"Brilliant! It works! Thank you Steve, as always excellent customer service (wouldn't get that from carpigiani!)" 
Lucy Donnelly, PocoGelato -  Leigh-on-sea, Essex, England


"We are thrilled beyond belief at our new machine! It is making WONDERFUL ice cream from day one and we couldn't have made a better decision! yea!" - Lisa Hodge, Fox's Pizza Den - Waxhaw, NC


"I am glad to let you know that the CB350 I bought from you last year is working properly, and although I still have some unused time for it, our business has gone up thanks to the quality of the ice cream we make. Recently we opened our second ice cream parlor. I am very glad about taking the right choice: an Emery Thompson machine."
Joaquin Argandoña, Sucre - Bolivia


"Your customer service is the gold standard! And we love your machine. I really think you have a winning formula -- an exceptionally well made and easy to use machine and Steve answering the phone!" Deborah Kimble, Beachy Cream, Malibu, CA


"Emery Thompson...I have a Emery Thompson Batch freezer for the past 12 years...I bought it new and it has never given me one issue...It has been a reliable work horse or work pony, it is a smaller one, that has delivered batch after batch and has never seen the repair man... ". Thomas Morrison, Rock Salt Creamery, Lakes Region, NH.


On starting up Arundel Ice Cream Shop last year*: "Best things I did: I met Steve Thompson of Emery Thompson, and I love my batch freezer machine to pieces!". Teresa Adreoli, Arundel Ice Cream Shop, Arundel, Maine (*"The Scoop" - Members Corner, Winter 2011)


 "Thank you very much for your support. It is refreshing to see good customer support these days. I am impressed with the construction and quality of the machine and your response." Richard Horning, Pebble Beach Resorts - The Inn at Spanish Bay, Pebble Beach, CA 


 "Thank you very much for your telephone help Saturday. It was much appreciated and a testimony to your company's drive to be the best and support us owners of your machines above and beyond my wildest expectations. Your help proves made in America is important." - Frank Kolhouse, Scoops and Burgers, Cleveland, TN 

Thinking about starting your own frozen desserts business? Read David's great real life story! - David Ford, Weber's Premium Ice Cream, Fairview Park, Oh.

 "Steve, I forgot to mention when I spoke with you that we got the cds and just loved them.  Thanks so much.  It really helps to see the process and they will be great for training new employees.  Thanks again for doing such a great job.  And we are so glad that you have been able to keep everything in America." - Carolyn Conner, Gilly's Creamery, Virginia Beach, VA.
 
"When I think Italian Ice, This is exactly the finished product I'm looking for... First batch of lemon Ice went far past my expectations. Thanks for all your help, I have no doubt  Italian Ice is going to go over great in Maui.." - Justin Fournier, Kya's Italian Ice, Kihei, HI.
 
"I just wanted to say that I am very happy with my new CB350!  It has been a tremendous help with my production and is so easy to use.  My production time has gone from a full day to a couple of hours." - Christian Nye, Nye's Cream Sandwiches, Wilmington, NC.

 "Amen! We LOVE our ET!!!!" - Hubert & Robin Maughan, Discovery Ice Cream, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.

"I am in the market for a new batch freezer. If you were to buy a new batch freezer what would it be and why? Right now I am leaning towards the Emory Thompson because of ease of use, and made in the USA. (not to mention Steve is one of the nicest guys you would want to meet). I have a Carpigiani right now." - Greg Hansen, Calabash Creamery, Calabash, NC."I know I have posted this before but if you want a workhorse then buy an Emery Thompson...Like I said before I did so much research on batch freezers before I bought my ET that I think I may have drove Steve nuts with questions about his machine...and not once did he ever knock the other companies product as that showed me his focus is on his product...and in today's world most people are out there knocking the competition to make sale...Flawless Craftmanship....and you know before I bought my batch freeze I challenged Steve Thompson as he told me to call his home if I had a question or problem so I tested him and called one evening with a few questions just to see if he would take the call and even cut me short and I will tell you he would have talk to me for an hour if need be....fined another equipment manufacture that will do that let along give you his home number." Dave Gehlman, Roxberry Creamery, Johnstown, PA.
 
"Personally, for the product I make, I'd buy an Emery Thompson. In my opinion, it's the best built, lowest cost to maintain, and most flexible in terms of allowing you to do a lot of things like adding chunky ingredients to the batch itself. And like you say, Steve Thompson is a great resource to have should you ever have questions or problems." Steve Reppucci, Mad Maggie's Ice Cream, North Andover, MA.

 "If you want the workhorse of the industry for batch freezers...let me sum it up in two words for you: Emery Thompson. Oh by the way if you have an issue with it or a question you can call the owner at his home...try that with any other company." - Dave Gehlman, Roxberry Creamery, Johnstown, PA.
 
"I want to say thank you for all of your help over the past year. I 
finally have the ice cream plant in place and powered. I made my first 
4 batches of ice cream Monday to serve out last night. It was a huge success! I love the book I got from you. Can’t wait to try all of the recipes."  - Greg Sullivan, Food Service Director/CEC, Southwestwern Adventist University, Keene, TX

"We Love our machine!! Talk about an excellent, well made, work-horse! Thank You!!"  - Mary Canales, Ici Ice Cream, Berkeley, CA
 
"I have been researching equipment for quite a while (2 years!), and of course the usual suspects have come up, but I always try to dig deeper and find out more. My  conclusion is simple; when I buy a batch freezer it will be one of yours. How did I come up with this, you may ask? Simple, when I read Craigslist for batch freezers there are a lot of Taylors, Carpigiani, Electrofreeze, Technogel, Stoetling and Emery Thompson machines available. Most are either a mix of older (5-15 years) and newer models. That tells me the life expectancy is about 12 years for most machines. The issue is with the newer machines, why are they out there? Well, core business failure and oversell of equipment. This tells me that if you want to be successful in the frozen dessert business you need to seriously consider the equipment purchases you make. There is one company that is strangely different than the rest, and unless they are not selling any machinery you see very few newer used machines (I counted one between Ebay and all of Craigslist) for sale. I just emailed a guy who's machine he has for sale is a 1958 or so Emery Thompson, and so many are out there, and I think most of the people are retiring and the equipment is still productive, compared with bad business!" - Rodi Planck


 "My father always told me the same thing – “Always start with more than you think you’ll need because you’ll grow into it”.  I have a 3 car garage and wish I had a 4.  I also purchased the 44 Qt. ET.  I have another business and don’t have a lot of time to be making ice cream.  So the 44 Qt. was the better option for me." Rob Langlois, Big Licks Homemade Ice Cream, Old Orchard Beach, ME


 "I just want to tell you that if I didn't start making my own hand-dipped ice cream  some 14 years ago, I would not still be in this business. The cost and quality advantage that you will get  from making your own products just can t be found from a bulk distributer." Joe, Dippy's Ice Cream, Mantua New Jersey 


 "Just want to let the group know I did at least 6 months of testing and research before buying a new batch freezer. OK so I'm a little extreme when it comes to research but I spend my money wisely. Today was the first day for me to fire up my new Emery Thompson 24 qt machine and I can confirm my research findings. This is without a doubt the KING of batch freezers and a workhorse thats 2nd to none. I will say there is not another company that can match this machine for workmanship. It's a beast and my employees have a name for it already. The TERMINATOR. Steve Thompson you should be very proud of your families knowledge over the past 104 years and the craftsmanship of your machine. The best thing about this machine it's made right here in the USA by what I would have to guess is a superior group of employees. Everytime I have called there over the past 4 months not once did anyone not help me with a question or find someone who could." ... "If you're buying a batch freezer remember two letters ET."  Dave Gehlman, Roxberry Creamery, Johnstown, PA.


 "I've been using the newly designed blades for my 20 quart batch freezer for a couple of weeks and I'm very impressed with them. It's a wonderful concept with the heavier, sharper blade edges and I like the fact that I can remove the blades for better cleaning and easier replacement. The design and machine work is first rate. Thanks for making our trusty E-T batch freezer even better!" Stephen Rankin, Newburyport, MA 


 "We wanted to thank you for an awesome ice cream machine. We have been so happy with it! We are very glad that we decided to make our own ice cream. Our customers are continually commenting on how fantastic our ice cream tastes. Thank you for your demonstrations and advice. Making our own signature flavors has been a huge asset to our business." ... "Thanks again for all the help and a wonderful machine!" Shawn and Cammie Yokes, Winter Garden FL


 “We bought our 20 quart Emery Thompson in 1947 (61 years old) and now we need a part for it.” La Guli Pastry Shoppe, Astoria, NY

“I have often said that there are no real secrets in this business other than (1) using the best equipment (Emery Thompson) and (2) using the best ingredients and using them generously.” Gary’s Ice Cream, Chelmsford, MA
 “Hello Steve. This is Chris – one of your old customers – finally after 21 years, we need a part!” La Rocca’s Italian Ices, Staten Island, NY


 "I just wanted to drop a note to you and Slade...thanks for helping us figure out this problem and get it taken care of. It means A LOT that you care even though the machine is not in your facility anymore. I've encountered too many people here that give poor customer service and it drives me nuts! You and your people are the complete opposite and it pleases me to tell them about you when they inquire about our machine. Thanks again, Steve, for going above and beyond for us and all your customers." Kim Teigen, Scoop Town Creamery, Sturgis, SD


"We love your company and love all the tools you have put into our hands right from the beginning w/o even being your customer,  that has sold us on how much you care for people to succeed in this industry."  Tom and Gail Neuberger, Sweet Cheeks, Tulsa, OK


   "My family owns and operates Shaw Farm Dairy Inc. in Dracut, Ma.  We just completed a new fluid milk and ice cream facility on our farm and your machines survived the move to the new plant!  Considering the age on our machines I was quite surprised, but they are going strong!  I read some of your website articles and I really enjoy it.  You run a great family business and keep it surviving by manufacturing a great machine.  It seems in todays day and age you don't get to find too many companies that take pride in doing what they do and go out of their way to make sure quality comes first.  I really enjoy seeing that your company has done well all this time by producing great quality machines.  My family business is entering its 102 year in business and I know its not easy to survive with all the competition out there today, but we do it.  Just thought I'd send you an email to let you know how nice it is having a company like yours to do business with.  Keep up the good work!"Mark Shaw, Shaw Farm Dairy Inc., Dracut, MA


"First of all LOVE MY MACHINE!!! I polish it lovingly every night before I leave and gently clean its parts. Bad news is I should have bucked up for a 40-quarter as I am producing 20-30 3-gal tubs a day!"  ...  "...I think I'll need to look at the bigger machine."  Amy Ahearn, DownRiver Ice Cream, Essex, MA
 
"Dear Steve, I called you yesterday, 6-29-09 for advice on a problem with one of your gelato machines. You put me right on the problem and gave me the exact advice on what to do to  make it right. Thus saving me a lot of time and also making me look  good in front of the customer. She was very pleased with the entire experience and so was I. Keep up the good work!" Ron Czarnecki
 
"We have been making ice cream for 6 years and started with a Taylor 20 quart and found it hard to keep up.  We added a 40 quart Emery Thompson as our main batch and use the Taylor for the more unusual flavors. Our shop is in a rural area and open 8 months (western PA).  The most fun is being able to make any flavor that strikes us..." Dave and Carol McCullough,McCullough's Ice Cream Shoppe,  Stoneboro, PA.
 
"I learned how to make both gelato and ice cream in North Carolina. I just like ice cream better, and I think our customers agree." Gary Schoen, Rick's Ice Cream, Palo Alto, CA
 
“I took a one year tour of ice cream parlors and any place that I would want to call my own was using an Emery Thompson!”Stacey Manderland, Pine Grove, CA
 “I got the DVD on how to make frozen desserts and we all watched it. Your attitude is 100%...fast answers, personal attention by senior staff and you fulfilled your promise to send the DVD in 4 days. “Assi ben Moshe, Israel
 
“It worked great at our last ice cream course. The frequency drive is a real valuable addition.” Dr. Scott Rankin, University of Wisconsin
 
“This is the true-blue batch freezer of the lot. The original, the simplest, and the least-gimmicky of the bunch, Emery Thompson batch freezers are the only ones produced from U.S. materials using U.S. labor, made to withstand decades of use.”Dessert Professional Magazine
 
“I have never used any batch freezer except Emery Thompson, and I have no reason to ever consider a change. The personal service that you provide is just too big a part of the equation.” Tom and Jane Monaghan, Mary Jane’s Dairy Bar, Newburgh, NY
 
“I have to tell you the DVD you sent me was absolutely wonderful! After watching the DVD I feel as though I am an expert ice cream maker. Thank you for putting this together and helping all of us “Ice Cream Experts.” Kelly, Houston, TX
 
“A freezing chamber that is six times thicker than the competition’s allows inclusions to be added without fuss, including whole cookies for cookies and cream or liquid chocolate for stracciatella gelato.” Dessert Professional Magazine
 
"I finally start yesterday with making of Ice cream we made vanilla the whole day. The machines are too fast for us. My father in law has also an Ice Cream factory and his batch freezers are like forty years old and they are still going strong. Once again thank you for every thing." - Gina Berkley, Berendz Candy & Giftshop/Pieche's Ice Cream & Yogurt Factory, Oranjestad, Aruba


 "Thank you for this (CB-350) machine. it is the greatest thing ever invented, my only regret is I didn't Buy a 12QT!" Mike Fawcett, Redbud Marina, Claremore OK

Website, Artwork & Graphics are Copyright ©1998 - 2017 / Emery Thompson Machine & Supply Co. 15350 Flight Path Dr - Brooksville, FL 34604    Phone:1+(718)-588-7300 or 1+(813)-862-2776 Fax:1+(352)-796-0720 
​Some Audio Portions Copyright (c) 20167Emery Thompson Machine, Corel Corporation and its licensors. All rights reserved.

Sure, we can tell you how great our machines are and how the average Emery Thompson will last three times longer than the competition…. but we thought you’d like to read what our customers say about us!

Testimonials